2024 Election Projection Interactive Electoral Map Joe Biden Quotes Voting Trends by State Favorability Index

U.S. Presidents to Die in Office

A Job That Takes a Heavy Toll on a Man

William Henry Harrison (D-R), April 4th, 1841
(Pneumonia, succeeded by John Tyler),
First U.S. President to die in office, dying just 31 days after inauguration.

Zachary Taylor (Whig), July 9th, 1850
(Disease, succeeded by Millard Fillmore),
Died 16 months into his term.

Abraham Lincoln (R), April 15th, 1865
(Assassination, succeeded by Andrew Johnson)

James A. Garfield (R), September 19th, 1881
(Assassination, succeeded by Chester A. Arthur),
Died just 6 months into his term from septic shock, 2 months after being shot by an assassin.

William McKinley (R), September 14th, 1901
(Assassination, succeeded by Theodore Roosevelt),

Warren G. Harding (R), August 2nd, 1923
(Natural Causes, succeeded by Calvin Coolidge),

Franklin D. Roosevelt (D), April 12th, 1945
(Natural Causes, succeeded by Harry S. Truman),

John F. Kennedy (D), November 22nd, 1963
(Assassination, succeeded by Lyndon B. Johnson),
Most recent American president to have been assassinated, most recent to have died in office.
Site Disclaimer  |  Privacy Policy  |  Cookies

2024 Projection Interactive Electoral Map Electoral Voting Data by State Candidate Favorability Index Joe Biden Old Man Quotes Joe Biden Approval Today Inflation Tracker
©2023 www.AmericanPresidents.net • Content ©2019-2023 AmericanPresidents.net • All Rights Reserved. The AmericanPresidents.net logo, its written content, and derived statistical values are unique to this website (unless where indicated) and is protected by all applicable domestic and international intellectual property laws. This resource uses publically-released information. No endorsement of this site by any political group or party should be implied. Information found across this site, verified through publicly available sources, is assumed to be accurate at the time of publication. Material presented throughout this website is for historical and entertainment value only. No A.I. was used in the generation of this content; site is 100% curated by humans.

©2023 www.AmericanPresidents.net • All Rights Reserved • Content ©2019-2023 (4yrs)